Pandora?

Bugs at the Blue Eye, originally uploaded by jhoko.

When we got to the Blue Eye (Syri i kaltër in Albanian, though I have to admit that I am not 100% sure how to pronounce that), there were all these AMAZING bugs flying around, everything was green and lush and the water flowing out of the Eye was the most spectacular shade of blue I have ever seen in nature. I wasn’t a huge fan of Avatar, but I had to admit that I felt like I was exploring Pandora while we were there. And I loved it!

I will add more photos of this incredible spot later and go into much greater detail explaining what it is and why it is so wonderful, but for now here is a photo of one of the adorable bugs that live there, some kind of dragonfly-butterfly guy. I was sitting on some tree roots that were hanging over the impossibly blue water and I honestly just stuck out my hand, dreaming of a Pocahontas-esque, “Colors of the Wind” moment becoming one with nature when it ACTUALLY LANDED ON MY HAND!!! Dream. Come. True.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

