DEATH

This may be my last post ever. I just went running and I think I might be dying. It is a pleasantly SCORCHING 82 degrees outside and dandelions the size of a man’s fist are releasing their little feathery pollen pieces into the incredibly dry air at a rate so incredibly fast that it is resulting in the creation of fluffy little snowbanks on the sides of all the streets and trails. Last night I went to bed at 4:00am (I think) after a potentially deadly cocktail of beer, HAM, vermouth, Coca Cola, and copious amounts of rum. This morning I woke up at 9, ate some meatballs (obvs), and then played with Bruno for five hours. Somewhere in there I think I drank a glass of water.

That was the build-up to and the meteorological situation surrounding my decision to challenge myself with a run. Now I feel good, now that it’s over, but I think I will be regretting this decision later. Total distance: 4.5 miles/7.25km. With hills!!! Yay me!!

I actually discovered a nature park right next to my house during said run that kind of divides all the housing developments in SanSe from the neighboring countryside (ie rolling hills spotted with wildflowers, oak trees, the occasional goat, horse, or flock of sheep). There was actually one portion of the run (its the branch in the picture with the number 3) that is really high up on the crest of a hill, and from there you can see all of SanSe and the buildings of downtown Madrid on one side and the little towns and villages leading out to the Sierras (which still have a teensy tiny bit of snow on them) on the other. It was awesome! Good thing I found it now, two weeks before I leave 😦

Good news is, maybe I worked off some of that foie. Or some of that jamon iberico de bellota. Or a caña. Or my hangover! Or…oh forget it. At least I got a tan.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

